Liverpool City Region Combined Authority

Office of the Metro Mayor of the Liverpool City Region

The Metro Mayor of the Liverpool City Region works with the Liverpool City Region Combined Authority (LCRCA) to ensure we all share in the benefits of a successful economy with no-one left behind.

He’s accountable to, and represents the people of, all six boroughs in Liverpool City Region: Halton, Knowsley, Liverpool, Sefton, St Helens and Wirral.

The Metro Mayor steers the work of the Combined Authority, leading on issues such as the economy, transport, housing and skills.

Responsible for shaping the future of our region, the Metro Mayor represents Liverpool City Region people, enabling them to speak with one voice to make the case for a fairer deal and better quality of life, at the heart of government and on the world stage.

Liverpool City Region Combined Authority

The LCRCA consists of the six councils in the Liverpool City Region and the Metro Mayor, and works with other local services, businesses, trade unions, communities and other partners to improve the city region.

The LCRCA gives local people more control over issues affecting our lives and is delivering an investment programme worth over £1 billion.

The Metro Mayor and the LCRCA have already delivered real benefits for the city region, including:  

  • 9,000 jobs and 5,500 apprenticeships;
  • £189m in extra government funding for transport, homelessness and skills;
  • £6m to support local high streets;
  • 800 families into employment through Households into Work;
  • £1 fast tag Mersey Tunnels toll;
  • Half price bus travel for apprentices;
  • £8.3m of new cycling and walking routes; and,
  • New state of the art trains for the Merseyrail network.

Sefton has received tens of millions of pounds of funding, which without the Liverpool City Region’s devolution deal it would not otherwise have had, supporting projects including a new station for Maghull North, improvements to Junction 1 of the M58 and investment in local colleges.

To enable the LCRCA to continue to deliver projects for the city region, such as ultra-fast digital connectivity, a Mayoral Transport Plan, and an apprenticeship portal, and to ensure its long-term financial sustainability, the 2019/20 budget will be funded through a precept based on the following Council Tax Bands:

A 12.67
B 14.78
C 16.89
D 19.00
E 23.22
F 27.44
G 31.67
H 38.00

For more information, visit

Transport Funding

The LCRCA’s transport responsibilities are funded through transport levies across each of the six councils. This funds concessionary travel, subsidised bus services, the Mersey Ferries and a range of other services.
The transport levy 2019/20 for each of the Merseyside Councils within the LCRCA is:


Transport Levy



Transport Levy


Knowsley 10,032 10,006
Liverpool 32,869 33,095
St Helens 12,107 12,073
Sefton 18,605 18,490
Wirral 21,786 21,736
Total 95,400 95,400

For historical and legal reasons Halton Council currently provide transport activities directly within the boundaries of the borough of Halton.  

This is funded through a differential transport levy collected by Halton on behalf of the LCRCA which will be £3.1m for 2019/20.

Mayor Steve Rotheram
Metro Mayor Liverpool City Region

Mr John Fogarty, B.A. Hons, C.P.F.A.
Director of Corporate Services: Liverpool City Region Mayoral Combined Authority

Last Updated on 10 April 2019