Contact the council

Contacting the Council during Covid-19: important information

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, you will face significant delays when calling the Contact Centre. Please check this page to help you find the information you need during Covid-19.

Temporary Contact Centre Opening Hour Changes

The Contact Centre is currently operating temporarily with adjusted opening times.

These will be reviewed weekly as we manage staffing levels that are being impacted by Covid-19.

Our current opening hours are as follows for the Contact Centre phoneline 0345 140 0845 and for responding to social media and online queries:

Monday to Thursday – 9am to 5.30pm
Fridays – 9am to 5pm

Virtual Contact Centre

Our incredibly hard-working colleagues in the Contact Centre have now moved to a Virtual Contact Centre model, allowing them to work safely and efficiently from their homes during the Covid-19 situation.

The new system has now been successfully implemented and our staff are working hard to answer your queries as efficiently as possible.

The team will continue to concentrate its focus on the more vulnerable members of our community.

We are also experiencing an extremely high volume of calls to our Contact Centre. If you call, you may face long delays. There are alternative ways for you to get information:

  • Stay up to date with changes to council services at our Community updates webpage;
  • Volunteer to help vulnerable residents in Sefton here;
  • Access a range of Council services online

If you still need to get in touch? Why not try these options first...

Not found what you're looking for? Try searching our online services

Alternatively, you can: 

One Stop Shops

Sefton Council has two One Stop Shops located within the borough dealing with a range of face to face enquiries for many of our Council Services.

Bootle One Stop Shop located on 324 Stanley Road, Bootle, L20 3ET

Southport One Stop Shop located within The Atkinson, Lord Street, Southport, PR8 1DB

However due to Covid-19 we have had to make some temporary changes to the level of service we can offer during this time.

Bootle One Stop Shop is open by appointment only during the hours of 9am to 5pm, Monday to Friday.

Southport One Stop Shop recently relocated from Cambridge Arcade to The Atkinson and is also open by appointment only during the hours of 11am to 4pm, Monday to Friday.

If you require an appointment for either One Stop Shop please contact our Contact Centre on 0345 140 0845.

Visiting our One Stop Shops & Accessibility

As our One Stop Shops currently offer an ‘appointment only’ facility Monday to Friday, our Customer Service Advisors will ring you to schedule your appointment and assess your needs before arrival.

Both One Stop Shops are:

  • Wheelchair accessible and we have staff available to assist customers to their appointment when they arrive, should they require it.  
  • Have a loop hearing system for people who are hearing impaired
  • Can offer a private interview room; however, this needs to be requested in advance of your interview.
  • Have an interpreter service available for customers where English is not their first language.

Media Enquiries

Journalists and members of the media can contact Sefton Council’s Communications Team by email communications@sefton.gov.uk (not monitored 24-hours).

Please note this contact is only for use by the media. If you are a member of the public who has an enquiry about a Sefton Council service, please use our contact form.

All media enquiries, including those for Cabinet Members, must be sent to the Council’s Communications Team, who will organise any responses.

Content on our MySefton News Website is available for use by journalists and other media.

Videos can be downloaded from Sefton Council’s YouTube channel.

If you require files, including photographs, to be sent to you in any other way, please contact the Communications Team.

Contacts


Senior Leadership Team

Dwayne Johnson - Chief Executive

dwayne.johnson@sefton.gov.uk

 

Andrea Watts - Executive Director - People

andrea.watts@sefton.gov.uk

 

Stephen Watson - Executive Director

stephen.watson@sefton.gov.uk

 

Stephan Van Arendsen - Executive Director of Corporate Resources and Customer Services

stephan.vanarendsen@sefton.gov.uk

 

Deborah Butcher - Executive Director of Adult Social Care and Health

deborah.butcher@sefton.gov.uk

 

Lisa Lyons- Interim Executive Director of Children’s Social Care and Education

lisa.lyons@sefton.gov.uk

 

Simon Burnett - Head of Communities

simon.burnett@sefton.gov.uk 

 

Stuart Barnes - Head of Economic Growth and Housing

stuart.barnes@sefton.gov.uk

 

Peter Moore - Head of Highways and Public Protection

peter.moore@sefton.gov.uk

 

Jan McMahon - Head of Strategic Support

jan.mcmahon@sefton.gov.uk

 

Laura Knights - Head of Children’s Social Care

laura.knights@sefton.gov.uk

 

Christian Rogers - Head of Commercial Development

christian.rogers@sefton.gov.uk

 

Margaret Jones - Director of Public Health / Head of Health & Wellbeing

margaret.jones@sefton.gov.uk

 

Tricia Davies - Interim Head of Education

tricia.davies@sefton.gov.uk

 

Michelle Williams - Head of Operational In-House Services

michelle.williams@sefton.gov.uk

 

Alisa Nile - Interim Head of Adult Social Care 

alisa.nile@sefton.gov.uk

Downloads

Customer Services Defra Initiative Privacy Notice Final (pdf 72KB)
Customer Services Privacy Notice (pdf 496KB)

Last Updated on Friday, November 26, 2021

Recite Me Button